Luminosus Designs

Reviews of Our Work

Five Star Review

Project Date: March 2018

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

We hired Luminosus to decorate our family room, kitchen and mudroom. Mimi and her team brought in a complete solution that not only made the space look well put-together but easy to live in. The furniture and decorations were chosen to specifically work with our particular family’s needs – younger kids, and dog that shed a lot. For both the mudroom and the family room in particular, she did so much more than we originally had intended for the space and it completely transformed the look and made it more usable.

What I like best about Luminosus is that they handle every detail with a project. If something doesn’t show up on time or if a custom piece was not done correctly, they are on top of it until it comes through the way it’s supposed to. They work with a well-trusted team of contractors that they have a long history with, all very professional and nice guys who follow the schedule as she has planned out.

We were so happy with their work that we are currently working with them on a second project, this time decorating the dining room, living room and foyer.

— Melinda Mehfar


Five Star Review

Project Date: June 2017

Project Price: more than $100,000

Luminosus Design goes the extra mile. i.e. Finding the supplier who had the material in stock for the contractor to help meet our ridiculous deadline. They inherited a mess and were instrumental in helping create a gorgeous product within budget and insane time constraints.

— Victoria Wood


Five Star Review

Project Date: April 2017

Project Price Range: $50,000 – $100,000

From the moment we did the walk through consultation, Mimi spent time listening, observing and connecting what was important to the renovation/update of our home. She really got a feel for what we wanted, and we couldn’t be more pleased with the results. What makes Mimi stand out is not only her knowledge of interior design but her electrical and architectural expertise. The colors, fabrics, furniture and decorative accents that Mimi joined with our sentimental items have made our home such a special place to gather for our family and friends. Every single day I walk through my home and absolutely love what Mimi helped us create. She is simply the best.

— Kathy and Jim Colica


Four Star Review

Project Date: April 2017

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

My husband and I hired Luminosus Designs to do our master bathroom remodel. What I love most about Mimi and her team was their extreme attention to detail. Mimi and her team were able to help my husband and I balance our very different design styles and come up with solutions that satisfy both of our tastes. Both Mimi’s design aesthetic and working style were a great fit for our project.

— Alali Williams


Five Star Review

Project Date: May 2015

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

The project was a Jack and Jack bathroom renovation for my two teenage boys. Mimi designed a fresh, modern bathroom with traditional elements which my boys love. The design incorporated special items such as a heated marble floor and heated towel bar…both with timers. Her custom vanities and window seat with hampers are perfect. I commend Mimi for her patience, attention to detail and willingness to work with and on behalf of the homeowner. The only drawback was the time delay to get the project going and completed. However, the results were worth the wait and we are delighted with the finished bathroom.

— wrayroth


Five Star Review

Project Date: August 2015

Project Price: more than $100,000

I used Mimi for a large renovation project and she was outstanding. In particular, she is a “turn key” solution in that I gave her an inspiration and budget and then her team delivered with virtually no challenges in between. Her unique ability is having both design and architectural skills which allowed us to do much more than expected without having to hire additional professionals. The end product exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend her!

— vvr379


Five Star Review

Project Date: August 2015

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

We hired Mimi to help us reimagine our family room – our family room had very large door openings constraining furniture placement and a huge old-fashioned built-in, making it feel dark and uninviting. After carefully listening to what we wanted to accomplish, Mimi suggested we close up the openings a bit to allow the proper placement of the furniture for the seating we desired, and to replace the dark built-in with a sleek white one. Mimi and her team selected all the furniture for the family room for us, designed the built-in and also helped us design an additional cabinet for our kitchen and found a beautiful lighting fixture for over our kitchen table.

Mimi and her team oversaw the entire construction part of the project (closing up the walls), dealt with all the subcontractors and communicated any snags promptly and efficiently, while also finding the best and quickest solutions. It was a smooth process and we are thrilled with the results. We ended up with a bright, modern, very pretty and very comfortable family room, a beautiful kitchen cabinet that matches perfectly the previously existing cabinets and a beautiful lighting fixture. We highly recommend Mimi and her team for any design or construction project.

— i_vujic


Five Star Review

Mimi of Luminosus Designs has been using Kanters’ Carpet and Design Center for her decorating projects for past few years. Wonderful to work with and she puts a lot of thought and time into each and every project. Results are beautiful.

— Kanter’s Carpet & Design Center


Five Star Review

Project Date: August 2014

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

After reading reviews about Mimi Fong in Westchester Magazine, I decided to call to have her help design a small church that I am affiliated with. Her attitude and professionalism was incredible; she caught the vision that was described and took the idea to a level that we would have had a hard time to achieve. After I saw the finished product of the church I decided to venture into other work opportunities with her. Specifically, she helped me redesign my laundromat located in Harlem. Staying within a tight budget, she totally revamped the store front. This allowed me to better compete in the market. Her design ideas were fun, cost effective and practical. As a result of my experiences, I would highly recommend her for any design project.

— garywestchester


Five Star Review

Project Date: August 2013

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

I’ve had the pleasure of working on projects with Mimi and her associates for 5+ years.

I have to say that she is definitely one of the top designers for a reason. Her scheduling of the different trades is seamless and her designs are elegant. I’ve worked with many designers over the years and have to say that Mimi is the total package.

— Marquis Painting LLC


Five Star Review

Project Date: June 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

This is a big shout out for Mimi Fong. Mimi is an interior designer who came to the rescue when I told her I was DIYing a small bathroom and needed ideas. She was definitely “Mimi on the Spot.” Mimi met me at my home, spent 3 hours showing me different design ideas on her iPad and taking measurements. Two days later, we met again and she had 3 different designs at different price points all within my budget. Throughout this whole process, Mimi understood my taste and really nailed the design.

The scope of work included gutting the room down to studs and subfloor, installation of a new ceiling, floor and walls, moving plumbing and electric, creating a new cantilevered vanity and tiling the floor and primary wall. I will say that I was a little apprehensive at the wall tile choice but Mimi was spot on. I’ll let you decide.

Throughout the whole process, Mimi was assessable, attentive and extremely helpful. She was always there whenever I had a question or a problem and she always got back to me that day. Mimi does residential, office and commercial design and is the owner and chief designer of Luminosus Designs. Is strongly urge you to give her a call if you, or someone you know, are thinking about any type of renovation.

— jonzinman


Five Star Review

Project Date: March 2015

Project Price: more than $100,000

My wife and I have been working with Mimi and her team for a little over a year. In late 2014, we purchased a new construction in Darien. Because we had been living in an apartment in NYC, we needed help with both the structure and design of the interior of the house. After scouring the web and interviewing many interior designers, Mimi emerged as our clear choice. After meeting with us, seeing our then apartment, and discussing our preferences, she presented us with a clear and detailed plan and budget. Hiring her was invaluable. She spotted flaws in the interior structure of the house and then worked with the developer to fix them. Most significantly, she turned what was a very problematic layout for the master bedroom, bath, and closet into something very spectacular. She also re-configured the layout of the living room and fireplace to maximize and open up the space. She was persistent and really helped maximize the potential of the space.

She also designed built-ins for the house that turned out just great. Mimi was regularly on-site to make sure that the built-ins were according to plan, and had her contractors tweak and tweak until things were just right.

We also needed help furnishing the place. It took us years to furnish our apartment, and we did not want to have to spend years furnishing the house. Mimi and her team developed alternatives for each room in the house, and showed them to us in visually detailed presentations, explaining the rationale behind each. They took care of purchasing the furniture and timing the purchases so they could all be delivered in as few times as possible. Just a really great job both logistically and design-wise.

We have been very happy with Mimi and her team and highly recommend them.

— scooter1234


Five Star Review

Project Date: January 2014

Project Price: more than $100,000

Luminosus Designs LLC did outstanding work on our project. This was our first experience with interior decorating and we went in not knowing what to expect. Mimi was energetic, tenacious and responsive. She has impeccable taste and a knack for coming up with creative design solutions. Mimi led us through the whole process. She was professional and detail oriented but not overwhelming and, most importantly for us, she made recommendations and was happy to make decisions for us when we needed her to but allowed us to control and have final say on the aspects of the project we cared most about. She was able interpret, execute and deliver our vision creating a final result that was better than anything we could have ever imagined (much less have been able to achieve on our own).

In addition, the project stayed within our budget and timelines and the whole process was transparent to us from beginning to end. Overall, we would highly recommend Luminosus and hope to have the chance to work with Mimi again soon.

— ischer


Five Star Review

Project Date: May 2014

Project Price: more than $100,000

Our family took the plunge, moving from city to suburbs and entrusted Mimi with the responsibility of converting a house into our ‘home’ and we could not have been more pleased. Mimi’s ability to harmonize style, texture, and functionality along with her attention to detail, demand for perfection, and highest professionalism made our project a true joy.

Beyond a timeless contemporary style, Mimi very quickly understood our preferences and meticulously transformed our empty rooms into a beautifully crafted home. The vendors I met that performed various jobs throughout the home were an extension of Mimi’s professionalism and quality. Mimi expertly managed design/construction & delivery, as well as details in between and beyond the job scope. The bulk of this was done prior to us moving in and thus the transition from one home to another was seamless.

The finished rooms looked so nice we didn’t want to disrupt them, especially many of the custom made pieces, but then we’re comforted knowing that durability and aesthetics were kept at the same high standard. We constantly have 3 generations of family utilizing all pieces throughout the house and look forward to many years of strenuous use. I would highly recommend Luminosus Designs for your next designer needs and I look forward to finishing the rest of our home with Mimi Fong.

— mh425


Five Star Review

Project Date: December 2014

Project Price: less than $1,000

Mimi Fong was an absolute pleasure to work with. She was helpful, prompt, and a true professional. She has a great color sense and a style that proves to be timeless. Her range of available design services can help everyone create the space of their dreams. I highly recommend Luminosus Designs.

— chrishaase1


Five Star Review

Project Date: March 2014

Project Price: less than $1,000

My wife and I were looking to buy a property that needed some work and contacted several designers for initial estimates. Mimi was by far the most professional and responsive of the designers that we contacted–she very quickly fielded our emails and scheduled time for us to discuss the project over the phone.

On the call, she was generous with her time and we spent an hour discussing the scope of the project and potential issues. Mimi was very candid with us and let us know immediately that our bathroom plans were not realistic in terms of both time and budget. In the end, we found major issues with the home during inspection and ended up not buying it, but Mimi’s frank advice helped us make a more informed decision in a timely manner before purchasing a home in need of a larger renovation than we realized.

I cannot speak for Mimi’s actual work product but from a service standpoint she is incredibly professional and responsive. I will definitely reach out to her again to discuss any of our future projects.

— agobot8000


Five Star Review

Project Date: May 2013

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

I have only the highest regards for Mimi Fong at Luminosus! I first spoke with her in May of 2013 for help with my bathroom renovation. I never dreamed that my bathroom could turn out as beautiful as it did! I had a previous floor plan for the new bathroom but the space was just too tight for our liking. I called Mimi for ideas and she reworked a brilliant floor plan that gave us twice the space much to our surprise. She did an incredible job from start to finish. She is highly knowledgable in all aspects of design as well as structural issues, codes, products etc. My house is 110 years old so there were challenges to say the least but Mimi knew how to work through them. She presented us with an inspirational and functional design based upon my preferences and budget and knew exactly how to execute the concept as well. We worked together on this project for 6 months and it was a great pleasure to work with her. She is extremely professional and a great communicator as well as very understanding and accommodating to last minute changes! My bathroom is now the luxurious spa bathroom I’ve always dreamed of and we simply could not have picked a better person to bring it to fruition than Mimi! I should also mention that we were so impressed with her ideas for our bathroom that we hired her to do our teenage daughter’s bathroom at the same time which also turned out perfect. I would not hesitate to recommend her in the least, she’s the best!

— cinpray


Five Star Review

Project Date: August 2013

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Mimi redecorated all our bedrooms and did a great job. Her design was very modern and bright and she understood well our needs as a family. She took the time to answer all of our questions thoroughly and furthermore, as we moved from Paris and the house was vacant for a while – she managed the process competently independently with her team. We also made some changes in scope along the way, and Mimi was extremely professional and fair regarding those alterations. Overall, working with Mimi was a pleasure and I would highly recommend her.

— Dor Sela


Five Star Review

Project Date: March 2012

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Luminosus Designs, LLC was hired by the church of which I am the pastor. The owner of the company, Mimi Fong, met with us to discuss the vision that I had for the development of the church and expectations involved with the project. Her consultation and follow through were thorough and highly professional, including but not limited to meticulous contractual specifications. Upon approval of the plans provided by Luminosus Designs, Mimi worked with us continuously to customize, adjust and enhance the space we now know as our place of worship. This company offered more than a hosts of ideas; in essence, they assisted with developing our vision. We are more than pleased with the final outcome provided by Luminosus Designs. Our sanctuary is warm and inviting which exemplifies the LOVE OF GOD.

Thanks Mimi for capturing the vision and bringing an ordinary space to a level of brilliance, comfort and love!

JOB WELL DONE!!

— Pastor John Felder, POWERHOUSE Faith and Deliverance Ministries


Four Star Review

Project Date: June 2013

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Mimi from Luminosus redecorated my family room and did a wonderful job. Her design was very sophisticated and matched my style perfectly. She gave me lots of choices in terms of colors and took the time to answer all my questions thoroughly. Although we did encounter some difficulty with some of the furniture vendors, Mimi handled them all and I didn’t have to deal with them myself, which was a real plus. Overall, working with Mimi was a pleasure and I would recommend her wholeheartedly.

— jenlukin


Five Star Review

Project Date: January 2013

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Our co-op hired the Luminosus Designs LLC to renovate our building lobby. We consider this work as very difficult because it is very hard to satisfy everybody’s taste. Luminosus offered us three proposals, so we would be able to chose one. Luminosus completed all work in a timely manner. The renovation included furniture, carpet, shadow replacement and new decorations. All work was done within our budget. The residents like the new lobby . The new lobby design added more value to our building. The lobby looks very nice. On behalf of our Board I highly recommend Luminosus Design LLC to other customers.

— galikoval


Five Star Review

Project Date: July 2012

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

Mimi performed a miracle – turning a completely dysfunctional “kitchen” with little to no counter space into a beautiful spacious functional kitchen with room for storage. She is attentive to details, thinking not only about the appearance of the space but how well the space is used. Our kitchen is now the hub of our home!

— ilita9


Five Star Review

Project Date: May 2008

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

We hired Luminosus for the interior redesign project in our house in 2008 and also for the project coordination for a large repair on our house two years later.

Our space consisted of a series of small rooms and hallways that probably worked great at the time when the house was built in the 1920’s. Mimi’s design transformed our home into something that is terrific – bright, relaxing and surprisingly spacious. Everyone who visits us love our home and say how they would love to live here. Ours was nearly a gut renovation – the second bedroom and two closets were untouched with the exception of new flooring.

Mimi’s design choices were always spot on, including the flooring, fixtures and lighting, and the new furniture pieces we bought. Of course I had my doubts and many questions along the way. Mimi was very helpful in explaining everything and providing options. I’m especially happy that she convinced me to take chances on things that were outside my comfort zone like the kitchen layout. Her designs of the bathroom and kitchen are  beautiful and very creative given the challenges of the space.

We had several walls removed and extended to change the layout in our home. Mimi brought in an architect who helped make sure everything was done right and who added creative architectural elements to the space.

For the repair on our house, Mimi helped to find and vet the GC. She was on site communicating with the subs very often, which was a great relief because I had very little time to meet the GC except on weekends. Plus, I know nothing about brickwork and coping stones. So the GC could have said anything and I would have believed him. I heard from the GC about how he and the subs were surprised at how knowledgeable Mimi is on construction practices and what they were all doing. She even insisted on the GC getting a permit for the scaffolding they put up, after confirming with the architect that one was necessary. The GC initially told us it wouldn’t be.

You can hire a really good or even great interior designer. You can hire a good project manager / coordinator. And you can hire someone who knows about construction, i.e. a GC. But can I find all three in one person? I found all three and someone that I can trust in Mimi and Luminosus Designs.

— 1996r1100r


Five Star Review

Project Date: March 2010

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Mimi was terrific to work with from the initial visioning and dreaming about our home, to the process of working with contractors, supplies, and logistics, to helping us reach the finish line. Any endeavor of this kind is complicated and filled with volumes of details and unanticipated challenges. Mimi worked through all of this with us with incredible professionalism and creative talent. I wholeheartedly recommend her services.

— any66


Five Star Review

Project Date: June 2007

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

We hired Mimi from Luminosus Designs to redesign for full renovation our master bathroom and an additional bathroom for the kids a few years ago. She did a terrific job of re-creating both rooms that had very bad layouts with lots of wasted space beforehand, and creating clean, beautiful, open and modern yet very useful spaces in both rooms that we all love – which was no small task in our case. She presented high quality, unique and custom elements that we never would have found on our own that make the rooms really shine. We’re very happy we decided to use her for these projects, and would recommend Luminosus to anyone.

— J M